Brenley's Airstream Chronicles
Brenley's Airstream Chronicles
Tower Of Song
8
0:00
-3:29

Tower Of Song

A Song For Val
8

Yesterday, I started reading "Stories I Might Regret Telling You," a memoir by Martha Wainwright. Like I often do when reading autobiographies, I paused to listen to an album or look up a painting, a recipe, or whatever the author references. After reading how much it inspired Martha Wainwright, I put on Leonard Cohen's album "I'm Your Man." One thing led to another, and I found myself listening to covers, eventually coming across Martha's rendition of "Tower of Song," a track I'm not very familiar with but it got into my head. I pulled out the guitar. My mom loved Cohen dearly, and this morning, I felt especially close to her so I decided to record the song, albeit roughly. Even when I messed up the guitar part, especially at the end, I just turned it off and left the vocals bare. I don't feel the need to perfect it or tinker with the mixing to make it flawless. It's raw and kind of messy, but I like it just the way it is—for now. These days, finishing anything takes a lot out of me, so I'm calling this a win for today.

The last few days have been particularly tough. My sister, brother, and I went through all of my mom and dad's clothing and personal belongings for the first time since they left this world. I drove to the donation centre, sobbing with 15 bags filled with clothing, records, picture frames, VHS tapes, cassette tapes, and old electronics. It was painful, but I got through it. Ok, I’m a gonna post this before I don’t. Oh and I’m nearing the end of this book:

Take Back the Magic: Conversations with the Unseen World”by Perdita Finn.

And now I’m off for a walk.

Discussion about this podcast

Brenley's Airstream Chronicles
Brenley's Airstream Chronicles
Weekly adventures in farm life, Airstream studio renovations, creative pursuits, and the music that resonates from it all.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Brenley